Dr. Winai Ieawsuwan

26 Jan 2023

Name : Dr. Winai Ieawsuwan (Research Scientist)
Office Address : Room : R514B / R303C
Laboratory of Medicinal Chemistry
54 Kamphaeng Phet 6 Talat Bang Khen, Lak Si, Bangkok 10210, Thailand
Tel : +66 2553 8555 (ext. 3052, 3024)
Email : [email protected]

Research Interests
Synthetic methodology
Asymmetric catalysis
Total synthesis of natural products

2005 – 2009 Dr. Phil. Nat Organic Chemistry, Goethe University Frankfurt am Main, Germany
2001 – 2004 M.Sc. Organic Chemistry, Mahidol University, Thailand
1997 – 2001 B.Sc. Chemistry, Silpakorn University, Thailand

Work Experiences
2020 – present Research Scientist I, Chulabhorn Research Institute, Thailand
2011 – 2020 Research Scientist, Chulabhorn Research Institute, Thailand
2009 – 2010 “Postdoctoral researcher, Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium.”
2008 “Laboratory assistant for organic chemistry course, Goethe
University Frankfurt am Main, Germany.”
2004 – 2005 Research assistant, Mahidol University, Bangkok, Thailand.

1997 – 2004 The Development and Promotion of Science and Technology Talent Project (DPST) Scholarship
2002 – 2004 The Postgraduate Education and Research Program in Chemistry (PERCH).
2005 – 2009 Degussa Endowed Professorship from Prof. Dr. Magnus Rueping.
2009 – 2010 Postdoctoral fellowship from Prof. Dr. Istvan E. Marko.
2013 “Good Award on the thesis award 2013” National Research Council of Thailand (NRCT), Thailand
2007 IUPAC Poster Prize at The German Chemical Society Biennial Congress: “GDCh Chemistry Forum” (Wissenschaftsforum Chemie), University of Ulm, Germany
2004 Oral presentation prize at The 3rd PERCH Annual Scientific Congress (PERCH Congress III), Thailand
2003 Poster prize at The 2nd PERCH Annual Scientific Congress (PERCH Congress II), Thailand

Selected Publications

  1. Peters, B. B. C.; Andersson, P. G.; Ruchirawat, S.; Ieawsuwan, W. Synthesis of Chiral Tetrahydro-3-benzazepine Motifs by Iridium Catalyzed Asymmetric Hydrogenation of Cyclic Ene-carbamates. Org. Lett. 2022, 24, 1969−1973.
  2. Ieawsuwan, W.; Pingaew, R.; Kunkaewom, S.; Ploypradith, P.; Ruchirawat, S. Scandium(III) Triflate-Catalyzed Pinacol-Pinacolone Rearrangement and Cyclization of 1,2-Diaryl-1,2-ethanediol: The Versatile Synthesis of 1-Aryl-2,3-dihydro-1H-3-benzazepines. Asian J. Org. Chem. 2019, 8, 1441-1447.
  3. Ieawsuwan, W.; Ruchirawat, S. An Efficient Silver Tetrafluoroborate-Catalyzed Cycloisomerization of Ynamides. Heterocycles 2019, 99, 100-110.
  4. Ieawsuwan, W.; Ruchirawat, S. PIFA-BF3•OEt2 Mediated Intramolecular Regioselective Domino Cyclization of Ynamides: A Novel Method for the Synthesis of Tetrahydroisoquinoline-oxazol-2(3H)-ones. Bioorg. Med. Chem. 2017, 25, 2856-2867.

Other Publications

  1. Raja, S.; Ieawsuwan, W.; Korotkov, V.; Rueping, M. Asymmetric Bronsted Acid-Catalyzed Nazarov Cyclization of Acyclic α-Alkoxy Dienones. Chem.-Asian J. 2012, 7, 2361-2366.
  2. Ieawsuwan, W. Bolte, M. (5S,6R)-6-Bromo-6-methyl-5-phenyl-3,4,5,6-tetrahydro-2H-cyclopenta[b]pyran-7-one. Acta Cryst., Sect. E: 2011, 67, o2748.
  3. Rueping, M.; Ieawsuwan, W. Asymmetric Brønsted Acid Catalyzed Carbonyl Activation – Organocatalytic Domino Electrocyclization–Halogenation Reaction. Chem. Commun. 2011, 47, 11450-11452.
  4. Rueping, M.; Haack, K. L.; Ieawsuwan, W.; Sunden, H.; Blanco, M.; Schoepke, F. R.  Nature-Inspired Cascade Catalysis: Reaction Control Through Substrate Concentration-Double vs. Quadruple Domino Reactions. Chem. Commun. 2011, 47, 3828-3830.
  5. Rueping, M.; Nachtsheim, B. J.; Ieawsuwan, W.; Atodireseia, I. Modulating the Acidity—Highly Acidic Brønsted Acids in Asymmetric catalysis.  Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2011, 50, 6706-6720.
  6. Rueping, M.; Nachtsheim, B. J.; Koenigs, R.; Ieawsuwan, W. Synthesis and Structural Aspects of N-Triflylphosphoramides and Their Calcium Salts—Highly Acidic and Effective Brønsted Acids. Chem. Eur. J. 2010, 16, 13116-13126.
  7. Rueping, M.; Ieawsuwan, W. A Catalytic Asymmetric Electrocyclization-Protonation Reaction. Adv. Synth. Cat. 2009, 351, 78-84.
  8. Rueping, M.; Ieawsuwan, W.; Antonchick, A. P.; Nachtsheim, B. J. Chiral Brønsted Acids in the Catalytic Asymmetric Nazarov Cyclization – The First Enantioselective Organocatalytic Electrocyclic Reaction. Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2007, 46, 2097-2100.
  9. Rueping, M.; Ieawsuwan, W. A Manganese-Catalyzed Cross-Coupling Reaction. Synlett 2007, 247-250.
  10. Rueping, M.; Nachtsheim, B. J.; Ieawsuwan, W. An Effective Bismuth-Catalyzed Benzylation of Arenes and Heteroarenes.  Adv. Synth. Cat. 2006, 348, 1033-1037.
  11. Ieawsuwan, W.; Roig, M. B.; Bolte, M. 2,2,7,7-Tetraphenyl-2,7-dihydrodibenz-[c,e]oxepine. Acta Cryst. 2006, E62, o1478-o1479.
  12. Pohmakotr, M.; Boonkitpattarakul, K.; Ieawsuwan, W.; Jarussophon, S.; Duangdee, N.; Tuchinda, P.; Reutrakul, V. α,α-Difluoro-α-phenylsulfanylmethyl Carbanion Equivalent: a Novel gem-Difluoromethylenation of Carbonyl Compounds. Tetrahedron 2006, 62, 5973-5985.
  13. Pohmakotr, M.; Ieawsuwan, W.; Tuchinda, P.; Kongsaeree, P.; Prabpai, S.; Reutrakul, V. α-Arylsulfanyl-α-fluoro Carbenoids: Their Novel Chemistry and Synthetic Applications. Org. Lett. 2004, 6, 4547-4550.


Share this